The Big Green Parenting Experiment

raising a healthy family in a toxic world

the longest, fastest year of my life.

on August 20, 2012

So, here I am, in front of the screen.  Enjoying a quiet moment while my one year old naps. WAIT… ONE YEAR OLD?!?!  What just happened?  Did I really just say that?  And could it possibly be true???

It’s true.  My sweet, innocent baby girl is turning ONE in just eight days.  Over the last month I have found myself in constant contemplation.  Where did the year go?  What did I do right?  What did I do wrong?  And the list goes on.  As a first time parent, I have so many ideas, so many plans.  I have a general path and goals as to how I want to raise my child.  I have definite beliefs and have made conscious decisions that I know not everyone agrees with.  (I know this because they tell me.)  This truly is the most difficult and most rewarding job in the universe.

My name is Alli.  I am married to the love of my life and soul-mate, Stephen and we are the most proud parents imaginable of a very active, spirited and hilarious baby, Schy (pronounced Sky).  I am a tree hugger, lover of organics and sustainability and always trying to find ways to lessen our family’s environmental impact.  I’m beginning this blog to share what we have learned over the past year and what we will continue to learn over the coming years as we attempt to raise a healthy, environmentally conscious (‘green’) child in an increasingly toxic world.  We breastfeed, cloth diaper, buy organic and belong to a local CSA.  We reuse, repurpose, recycle and do our best to conserve where we can.  We have our trials and tribulations, but overall, it is all well worth the effort.  I plan to share with you different ideas, recipes, homemade and chemical free solutions, tips, products and reviews that support a green lifestyle in hopes of passing what we learn along to the earth’s next generation.

I look forward to sharing our personal experiences and seeing where the next year takes us.  I look forward to and encourage your feedback as well.  As cliché as it may sound, together we can make a difference!

So welcome!  Let the big, green parenting experiment begin!

2 responses to “the longest, fastest year of my life.

  1. Everyone always says how fast the time goes, but until you experience it, you really don’t understand! They change and grow so much when they are that little : ) Congratulations on your first year of being a mommy! Thanks for stopping by my Facebook page! Come visit my blog at http://www.figuringitoutaswegrow.blogspot.com.

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Using the Whole Farm Share Box

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Have Dessert First

Life is sweet...so have dessert first!

Real Food Real Deals

Healthy food on a budget

AnnieRie Unplugged

LIFE IN THE SLOW LANE

the kitchen creative

creatively attacking the kitchen, one meal at a time.

Tree of Love Organics

Love for your Organic Child.

restaurantbastards

Let me tell you what I'm really thinking

Fresh Veggies in the Desert

Gettin' fresh ... in Northern Nevada

In Her Chucks

Navigating the Journey of Mommyhood, Kitchen Queen and Music Maker in My Chucks!

The Big Green Parenting Experiment

raising a healthy family in a toxic world

draw and shoot

Shooting photographs, drawing lines...

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Nonsense to Mom's Sense (of Humor)

How life as a stand-up comic prepared me for motherhood

In the mind of A

raising a healthy family in a toxic world

Conditioned Fitness

The database to become a fitter, healthier you!

