The Big Green Parenting Experiment

raising a healthy family in a toxic world

baby laughter

on September 10, 2012

Sometimes, in the middle of all of the challenges of parenting, you have those perfect moments.  The moments that make your heart melt.  These are the moments that make it all worthwhile.  Every day I think (and worry) about making the right choices for our family.  I think about making the healthiest decisions and how to keep our lives, especially Schy’s, more pure and uncontaminated.  I think about how to reduce our family’s waste and carbon footprint.

At times I get so wrapped up in all of the things we have to do, cooking, cleaning, laundry, napping… that I forget how precious the moment is.  I am so incredibly lucky to be able to stay home with my baby and to raise her and watch her grow.  Sure we are broke, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  And I can’t even imagine how much I’ll appreciate the next time that I get to buy some clothes or shoes for myself!  (A girl can dream.)

I was reminded of the importance of savoring the moment tonight.  Schy was laughing so hard, with her whole heart.  Baby laughter is the most soothing, sweet and rewarding sound in the universe.  Seeing her filled with so much joy is such an amazing feeling.  This sweet little girl, covered with giant red/purple blotches, which turns out to be a reaction called erythema multiforme by the way, thoroughly enjoying the moment.  Cracking up at her parents doing completely absurd things just for that purpose.  I would literally do anything to hear that little girl laugh.  I would stop whatever I’m doing to act silly or dance around or sneak a tickle attack.  This precious laughter, in and of itself, makes parenting the most incredible and rewarding job that any of us will ever do.

Savor the moment.  This is the one that you’ll never get back.  Love, dance, tickle, be silly, run, play, laugh and be laughed at.  This, my friends, is truly what it’s all about.

I am one lucky mommy!

 

5 responses to “baby laughter

  1. She is so, so precious. Great post!

  2. I’m right there with you. I just became a stay at home mom and sometimes I get caught up in the day to day life and not enjoy my 9 month old daughter. She’s beautiful.

    April @ 100lbcountdown.com

  3. She’s so cute!

    I came across your site from the Naptime review. Feel free to check out my site https://fashionablysaving.wordpress.com/
    http://www.facebook.com/fashionablysaving

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Using the Whole Farm Share Box

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Have Dessert First

Life is sweet...so have dessert first!

Real Food Real Deals

Healthy food on a budget

AnnieRie Unplugged

LIFE IN THE SLOW LANE

the kitchen creative

creatively attacking the kitchen, one meal at a time.

Tree of Love Organics

Love for your Organic Child.

restaurantbastards

Let me tell you what I'm really thinking

Fresh Veggies in the Desert

Gettin' fresh ... in Northern Nevada

In Her Chucks

Navigating the Journey of Mommyhood, Kitchen Queen and Music Maker in My Chucks!

The Big Green Parenting Experiment

raising a healthy family in a toxic world

draw and shoot

Shooting photographs, drawing lines...

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Nonsense to Mom's Sense (of Humor)

How life as a stand-up comic prepared me for motherhood

In the mind of A

raising a healthy family in a toxic world

Conditioned Fitness

The database to become a fitter, healthier you!

