The Big Green Parenting Experiment

raising a healthy family in a toxic world

natural bee sting relief!

on September 12, 2012

This is SO cool! I love learning new things!

Yesterday Schy and I were out and about. We made our big trip to the consignment shop and then we decided to pop in on the husband/daddy for lunch since we were in the neighborhood. We had about 45 minutes to kill so we stopped at a nearby outdoor shopping plaza to walk around. We happened upon this great shop called Ten Thousand Villages and went inside to check it out. As I reached for this super cool toy that looked like a little paper person pedaling a bike when you pushed it along the ground, I was STUNG by a BEE! I was so extremely startled that I jumped and flailed and frantically shook it off of my thumb. It was probably pretty funny to watch, actually. That bee had the nerve to land on Schy’s leg so I swatted it off and stomped on it! I don’t normally stomp creatures if they’re not bothering me, but I was terrified! This thing was after us! And Schy already has enough going on with her crazy allergy purple blotch hive rash all over her. We did NOT need one more thing with her right now.

I felt so violated. I looked at the remnants of the bee on the ground, picked up Schy and fled the scene. I haven’t been stung by a bee in years. And call me a wuss, but I forgot how bad it hurts! Within the hour my thumb swelled up and was sore and itchy and just generally really uncomfortable. I poked at it and looked at it all night. When I woke up this morning it was the first thing I had noticed. The swelling was even a bit worse. My skin was so tight that it hurt to bend… and the itch! Almost unbearable.

I googled natural bee sting treatment to see what I could find. I came across a website called vegetable gardener that claimed to have 12, yes 12, natural bee sting remedies. Number one on the list…. GARLIC! I went for this option because I always have it on hand and I always love to find new uses for garlic. It’s healing properties are so amazing. I pulled a fresh clove of garlic from our CSA out of the refrigerator, crushed it with a large knife and removed the peel. I pressed it onto the sting and walked around for the next 10 minutes with my thumb sticking out, trying to balance my odoriferous garlic sting treatment. I felt a difference within the first minute! It seemed to throb a bit for a minute but then, like magic, the stinging sensation was gone. By the end of the 10 minutes my skin was not nearly as tight and I could bend my thumb again! Unbelievable. Is there anything that garlic CAN’T do, really? This remedy gets one garlicky thumbs up from me!

20120912-125745.jpg

Here is a complete list of the 12 remedies on vegetable gardener:

  1. Garlic cloves
  2. Lavender essential oils
  3. Baking soda & water
  4. Peanut butter
  5. Plaintain
  6. Calendula flowers
  7. Bee balm
  8. Basil
  9. Onion
  10. Honey
  11. Parsley
  12. Apis Mellifica

The site lists more details for each. It also states that what works for one may not work for another so there are no guarantees that the garlic will work as well for you. Hopefully you can avoid having to treat a bee sting in the near future, but at least now you have a plan. And it’s always nice to have some natural remedies on hand with little ones around!

3 responses to “natural bee sting relief!

  1. inherchucks says:

    Awesome tip! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    ps: You were one of the big winners for my DeodoMom giveaway! Congratulations 🙂

    Email me at inherchucks [at} gmail [dot] com with your mailing address and preference of cream or rollon when you get a chance.

    Thanks again for participating!

  2. Hot Mess says:

    INCREDIBLE! I love learning about all-natural remedies like this!

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Using the Whole Farm Share Box

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Have Dessert First

Life is sweet...so have dessert first!

Real Food Real Deals

Healthy food on a budget

AnnieRie Unplugged

LIFE IN THE SLOW LANE

the kitchen creative

creatively attacking the kitchen, one meal at a time.

Tree of Love Organics

Love for your Organic Child.

restaurantbastards

Let me tell you what I'm really thinking

Fresh Veggies in the Desert

Gettin' fresh ... in Northern Nevada

In Her Chucks

Navigating the Journey of Mommyhood, Kitchen Queen and Music Maker in My Chucks!

The Big Green Parenting Experiment

raising a healthy family in a toxic world

draw and shoot

Shooting photographs, drawing lines...

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Nonsense to Mom's Sense (of Humor)

How life as a stand-up comic prepared me for motherhood

In the mind of A

raising a healthy family in a toxic world

Conditioned Fitness

The database to become a fitter, healthier you!

